3 Ultimate Pumpkin Pie Breakfasts to Celebrate Fall

Sometimes I will just go on random ingredient sprees. This week (as it is the first week of fall) I decide to buy some pumpkin purée. Let me clarify —not pumpkin pie purée or any chemical pumpkin ingredient. I like to stick with real pumpkin recipes as everyone else decides to consume calories worth of chemical pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks.

I digress. Now, back to the point.

Here are 2 fall real pumpkin pie breakfast recipes that I love.

Pumpkin Cherry Pie Oat Pancakes

DSC_0720

Let me just say…this is now my favorite creation. Ever. These are gluten-free oat based pancakes, but I used egg whites instead of full eggs to give them a fluffy texture, and the pumpkin pie purée I made gave them an extra softness that melted in my mouth. Needless to say, I am pretty proud of this recipe. It just takes a little preparation, so I think you should save them for a special occasion. For me, breakfast is a special occasion.

Preparation:

I would recommend making the syrup and pumpkin pie purée the night before just to save you time and energy in the morning. That way you’ll have time to chug coffee and actually get ready for the day.

Pumpkin pie purée:

I used this same purée for the pancakes, oatmeal and chia pudding. I didn’t have nutmeg or cloves in my kitchen, but typical pumpkin pie mixes contain those ingredients FYI incase you want to use them. You can switch it up if that tickles your fancy, but here are my ingredients:

Ingredients::

  • 1 can 100% pumpkin purée (2-3 cups)
  • 2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 4 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar (you can also just do 5 tbsp maple syrup)
  • 3 medjool dates
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1) Throw everything in a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth. It’s super easy.
2) Put in a sealed container in the fridge over night.

DSC_0683

Dark Cherry Syrup:

Honestly, I kind of just did this on a whim and didn’t measure precisely for this, but I am going to give you an estimate for what I think I did. Most of it is to taste. FYI this looks like blood kind of but don’t let it scare you.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dark cherries
  • 1 cup (or however much you want) maple syrup
  • ½ -1 cup (or however much you want) agave nectar
  • lemon juice to taste

Directions:

1) Throw everything but the lemon juice into a sauce pan and turn on medium heat until it bubbles.
2) Stir for 10 minutes and press the cherries as they are in the boiling mixture to make sure most of the juice is out.
3) Add lemon juice and taste throughout until you think it’s got enough pizzaz.
4) Strain and separate the syrup with the leftover cherries.
5) Put syrup in a container and the cherries in another container over night in the fridge.

DSC_0685

it’s like i’m a vampire

DSC_0688

idk how to make this visually appealing sorry

Pancakes:

I am putting my measurements in, which makes about 5-7 pancakes. However, you can cut my measurements in half and make a personal serving (what I should have done).

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin purée (depending on how many pancakes you want)
  • 2 cups oats
  • 4 egg whites
  • cherry syrup
  • granola
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1) Take 2 cups of oats and put into a blender or food processor or blender. Blend until they have a flour-like consistency.
2) Pour into a bowl with 4 egg whites, pumpkin purée, and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Mix until smooth. Taste it just to make sure it’s as delicious as you want it.
3) Spray non-stick (I used olive oil) onto a skillet on medium heat.
4) Pour pancakes onto skillet. Flip when they are golden and beautiful.
5) Stack on a plate with cherries and granola in between each cake.

DSC_07126) Pour syrup over the pancakes and drool on yourself (but make sure not to drool on your pancakes that’s gross).

DSC_0720

ooooh

7) Eat.

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

IMG_3649

This recipe is much more simple and can be altered to your taste. Sorry I didn’t take professional photos,  I ate it too quickly and didn’t know you guys would want me to post a recipe! Enjoy.

Ingredients:

  • oatmeal (duh) — honestly whatever you have. I used Quaker instant maple brown sugar and raisin, walnut and date oatmeal packets and mixed them. You can use whatever you want.
  • pumpkin pie purée (see recipe above)
  • walnuts or pecans
  • maple syrup
  • ground cinnamon

Directions:

1) Make your oatmeal. You should know how to do this, come on.
2) Put as much pumpkin pie purée on top of your oatmeal.
3) Drizzle some maple syrup on top
4) Add some pecans or walnuts if you don’t have a nut allergy.
5) Put a spoon in and raise it to your mouth as pictured below. IMG_3645

6) Eat.

Baked Apple Pumpkin Pie Chia Pudding

IMG_3966

To be honest, the baked apple isn’t completely necessary and it is really time consuming. I decided to put this pumpkin pie chia pudding in a baked apple because it felt cool, but you really don’t have to.

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup pumpkin pie purée (same as before)
  • apple
  • walnuts or pecans
  • maple syrup
  • cinnamon
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • ¼ cup chia seeds

Preparation:

Make the chia pudding the night before, as sitting over night allows the chia seeds to expand.

1) Mix ¼ cup pumpkin pie purée, ½ cup almond milk, and ¼ cup chia seeds in a bowl. Mix.
2) Seal with saran wrap and let sit over night.

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
2) Cut the core out of an apple and scoop out more of the apple to turn it into a cup.
3) Sprinkle some cinnamon into the apple with a hint of maple syrup.
4) Bake for 30 minutes to 1 hour. (I didn’t have that much time, so I did 30 minutes, but I think the longer it sits the more flavor it has)
5) Take the apple out of the oven and let it cool for 10 minutes.
6) Add your pumpkin pie chia pudding.
7) Drizzle maple syrup and sprinkle some nuts on top if you want it to be pretty.
8) Pose it in front of a fall-themed backdrop for dramatic effect.

IMG_3989

like this

9) Eat.

Leave a Reply

