These Pop-Tart Ice Cream Sandwiches Are Dangerously Delicious

The other day I was walking on the treadmill and realized that Pop-Tarts are highly underutilized as a dessert ingredient .  This sounds ironic, but all of my best food ideas come to me as I walk on the treadmill. I don’t know why, but that’s just how it works.

Pop-Tarts used to be all over the place. They were seen as “crazy good” snacks and breakfast pastries for kids and adults alike with cool designs and a very large selection of flavors. But then they kind of fell of the map. Don’t get me wrong, they’re still awesome. But the Pop-Tart boom has fizzled and the glory days of the brightly colored toaster pastries seem to be over. But its decline in popularity should not cancel out its potential as a dessert ingredient. Pop-Tarts are booming with flavor (mostly artificial but whatever) and can easily be paired with other ingredients to start a party in your mouth. Yeah, Pop-Tarts aren’t healthy but sometimes you have to indulge. So why not indulge with some epic Pop-Tart ice cream sandwiches?

I decided to conduct my Pop-Tart ice cream sandwich experiment with three of the staple flavors: s’mores, strawberry, and brown sugar cinnamon. I used these because they are the best. They are the least desperate flavors — the limited edition flavors like chocolate sundae and red velvet are just trying too hard.

So I made three combinations. Warm Pop-Tart + cool ice cream = flavor, texture, and temperature combo that is indescribable in the best way possible. I couldn’t really fit all the Pop-Tart sandwiches into one picture, so I made a tower.

i should major in architecture

i should major in architecture

The good thing about these ice cream sandwiches is that you can eat them fresh with the warm Pop-Tart and the cool ice cream dripping all over your hand, you can eat them in a bowl, or you can let the toasted pastry and the ice cream refreeze together and they actually taste just as good. You can’t really lose unless you don’t like Pop-Tarts or ice cream, but if you didn’t like Pop-Tarts or ice cream you wouldn’t be reading this. So you really can’t lose. Here are my three combinations, which each tasted out of this world. I don’t think these should be legal.

S’mores + Haagen Dazs dulce de leche

_DSC0678

Strawberry + vanilla with rainbow sprinkles

IMG_8387

Brown sugar cinnamon + Ben & Jerry’s cinnamon buns ice cream

_DSC0665

this one was my favorite so it gets two glamour shots

this one was my favorite so it gets two glamour shots

All of these tasted epic (I was super impressed if I must say so myself.) But in my opinion, the winner was the brown sugar cinnamon Pop-Tart sandwich with Ben & Jerry’s cinnamon buns ice cream. I absolutely love Ben & Jerry’s cinnamon buns ice cream, and the brown sugar Pop-Tart was such a good pairing. Ugh I can’t get over it.

The fun thing about Pop-Tart ice cream sandwiches is that you can make so many different combinations and it’s super easy. So go make some, but don’t make it a regular dessert routine or else you will have to invest in a personal trainer.

One thought on “These Pop-Tart Ice Cream Sandwiches Are Dangerously Delicious

Leave a Reply

