One Girl, Two Bagels

The other day, I want to Tompkins Square Bagels with my friend who also happens to be a food blogger, except unlike me, she’s gluten free. We’re basically the gluten-free and the glutton. Our mission is to find restaurants this summer that cater to both of our tastes and share them with you on our new YouTube Channel: Table Manners. (You should totally follow us!) Okay, shameless self promotion is now over.

Our first adventure was to find a bagel shop in Manhattan with good gluten-free and regular bagels. Black Seed Bagels (trust me you’ve seen it on your Instagram feed) is unreasonably trendy right now, but you have to order the gluten-free bagels in advance, and we just couldn’t wait that long to embark on our bagel adventure. So we decided on Tompkins Square Bagels, probably the next best thing with a gluten-free bagel selection.

And this is what happened.

I will never forget the time I took on two bagels and two exotic cream cheeses that probably shouldn’t be consumed in the same day (let alone the same hour). I walked away from this experience with clear eyes, a full heart and probably bigger thighs.

The birthday cake cream cheese was not too sweet and I was b l o w n away by this combo. Maybe the fun colors added some unnecessary excitement, but this bagel definitely looked and tasted magical.

_DSC0231

 

_DSC0228

The peanut butter cream cheese, on the other hand, was not as great. Even though I ate almost the whole bagel, I found myself actually scooping off the cream cheese, and for those that know me that is very, very rare. It had a strange after taste and was almost too rich for my liking. Once again, that is very, very rare.

_DSC0252

But, I must say the bagels themselves had a good texture. Sometimes it’s hard for a toasted bagel to maintain that gooey, dough-like consistency but they definitely both had that delicious give.

4 thoughts on “One Girl, Two Bagels

  1. Pingback: Bagel Is the New Black | Food by Skyler

Leave a Reply

