The Art of the Seamless Wakeup Call

If someone told me I would spend my college days ordering food at 4 a.m. the first scenario that would come to mind is this:

While I’ve definitely had a concerning decent amount of late night pizza in my life, I recently find myself utilizing New York’s 24-hour dining service for a much more productive reason: to jumpstart my work day. During grueling weeks filled with long days of work, tests and papers, my willpower to finish leftover assignments plummets and I just can’t get it all done. So I set my alarm for an unreasonably early hour (usually 4:00 a.m.), pre-order a scrumptious breakfast and excessive amount of coffee from Seamless, and go to bed to be woken up by an annoying alarm and a smiling delivery man holding my breakfast at the door. This expensive, excessive habit of the Seamless wakeup call has become one of my guiltiest pleasures, but I must admit that it has allowed me to try several local diners and get my work done in a timely manner.

So here’s a recap of my Seamless wake up calls in breakfast Instagram photos:

Orion Diner and Grill

Energy Breakfast (Egg whites, fresh turkey, tomatoes, mushrooms and spinach, served with home fries and multigrain toast)
2 Iced Coffees

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hollywood Diner

Egg White Greek Omelette with feta cheese and tomatoes

IMG_3971

Hot & Crusty (E 14th St. & 1st Ave)

Mediterranean Healthy Egg Whites Sandwich
3 Iced Coffees

IMG_6193

Big Daddy’s

The What About Bob? (a buttery bun with scrambled eggs, bacon, vermont cheddar & hash browns) with a side of sweet potato tots

IMG_6005

City Market Cafe

Two Eggs on a Roll with Sausage
3 Iced Coffees

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Tozt Cafe

Healthy Omelette (Egg whites with spinach, mushrooms, and a personal addition of swiss cheese)

IMG_3157

Lyric Diner

Protein Breakfast Wrap (Egg whites, fresh turkey, tomato, peppers and onions served in a whole wheat wrap with home fries)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And sometimes I just order a ton of coffee from Ray’s Market or Good Stuff Diner. Either way, Seamless wakeup calls are a great occasional splurge. You wake up, interact with a human being bearing the gifts of food and coffee, and crack down on your work with 100% focus because no one else is awake to distract you. There really is no better way to get shit done.

6 thoughts on “The Art of the Seamless Wakeup Call

Leave a Reply

