Sugar Café: Not As Sweet As it Sounds

Sugar Café

200 Allen Street

New York, NY 10002

http://www.sugarcafenyc.com/

I am a huge fan of late night bites and I must admit, I find myself with a cheeseburger in my hand at peculiar hours of the night a little too often. So when I ended up at the Sugar Café at 1:00 am looking for a cheeseburger, it felt like any other Saturday night.

I had seen the Sugar Café last year and I always thought it was the cutest little place to sit down to have a cannoli and some hot chocolate. However, when I actually went to eat there with my man friend, my whole little cannoli/hot chocolate dream kind of went down the toilet.

Contrary to my dreams, I ended up ordering the Texan Black Angus burger (a classic cheeseburger with a fried egg and bacon on top) without the bacon and my friend ended up ordering the Burger Deluxe (basically just a bacon cheeseburger).

When the burgers were brought to our table, they looked pretty average – just like the classic diner burger. However, when I took a bite of the Texan Black Angus burger without bacon, I was not very pleased. I could not taste the meaty flavor of the beef that I love so much, and the patty felt rubbery and artificial. The egg on top also did not add much to the burger because it was bland and the yolk was all the way cooked through. I tasted my man friend’s burger and felt that it had nothing going for it as well. I mean, it was fine, but I wasn’t excited about it. But then again, I have to admit that a diner is not the best place to expect an above par burger.

540113_444643258933643_366608888_n

(Texan Black Angus Burger sans bacon taken with @nycdining Instagram)

283392_444643612266941_1593240911_n

(Burger Deluxe taken with @nycdining Instagram)

We ended up getting the check after we finished our burgers and went outside to get a cab. After ten minutes of hailing and failing, I decided to give the Sugar Café one more shot and went inside to get a cannoli while my friend continued to hail a cab in the freezing cold (he’s a great guy).

So I went inside, waited in line and ordered myself a cannoli. I was really excited because I had been craving a cannoli for a couple of weeks now, and my hopes were high. Sadly, I was pretty let down when I took a bite of the cannoli. The shell was soggy and the filling was gritty, lacking the creamy taste of the ricotta filling. I only have a picture of the half eaten cannoli that kind of got destroyed in the cab, but I decided to put the picture in here anyway. Basically, if you are a fan of the classic Mike’s Pastry cannoli (sadly, it’s in Boston), then you probably will not be satisfied with the cannoli they give you at Sugar Café.

69416_444648092266493_2076137414_n

(taken with @nycdining Instagram)

At the end of the day, the Sugar Café led me on and let me down. The building is so cute with a quaint bakery in the front and adorable booths that line the large windows. But after I ate a burger and the cannoli, I realized that the only reason I sort of liked the Sugar Café was because of its cute scenery. However, I have to keep in mind that I ate there very late and the cannoli probably was not fresh. I also have to keep in mind that it could still be a good place to go get hot chocolate and/or to sit down with a friend over dessert. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to return, live out my hot chocolate dream, and be proved wrong, but I give the Sugar Café 2 stars for the cute atmosphere, menu selection and 24-hour schedule. However, I have been to better 24-hour diners before and don’t recommend this as a late night eatery.

Leave a Reply

