The Dutch: Actually Quite American

The Dutch

131 Sullivan Street

New York, NY 10012

http://thedutchnyc.com/

Going to a nice, cozy lunch at the Dutch is an ideal way to spend a rainy Manhattan Tuesday afternoon. After trekking through the rain, I waited in the main entrance for my friend.

                   

When I stepped inside, I felt as if I was in a cozy cabin in the middle of Colorado. The white brick walls and the wooden floors, tables and chairs all feel so cozy under the dim wooden lanterns that hang from the ceiling.

         

After noticing the decorations, I looked into the dining room to find a bunch of well-dressed men and women on their lunch breaks. Feeling awkward because I looked like a slob compared to them, I self-consciously waited for my friend in the waiting area. By the grace of God, five minutes later, my friend arrived and we were seated down in the dining area. Once we sat down, my friend ordered a cappuccino and we read the menu to see what the Dutch had to offer.

About ten minutes later, my friend’s cappuccino came. I must say it was very pretty and quaint in its little brick orange colored mug. I obviously snapped a picture.

After I awkwardly took a picture in front of the waiter (no shame), my friend and I decided to order our entrees. I was having a tough time deciding between the Fish Kuroyaki Sandwich with yuzu tobiko, tomato and watercress and the Grilled Trout Salad with radicchio and yogurt-sorrel dressing. After a long discussion with the waiter about each dish, I finally opted for the sandwich because the waiter told me, “You can have a salad anywhere.” Very wise. My friend decided to go with the Heirloom Tomato Sandwich with pine nut hummus and Vermont cheddar cheese.

While we waited for our entrées to come out, the waiter brought us some cornbread with scallions and chipotle with whipped butter. Considering my friend had one sliver and there was only a tiny end piece left by the end of our meal, you could say that I was kind of in love with it. It was warm and soft and the spices weren’t overwhelming and they were scattered sparsely throughout the loaf. The chipotle was a bit spicy, so if you do not like spicy food, just eat around the chipotle because the bread is still awesome.

         

Ok. I know the name of my sandwich is so confusing (Fish Kuroyaki with yuzu tobiko) so let me describe it to you. On the menu online it says that the sandwich is Tuna Kuroyaki, but when I went, the menu was changed to just Fish Kuroyaki. When I asked what kind of fish was in the sandwich, the waiter told me it was a Tilefish which I have never had or heard of before. I asked what Kuroyaki was and the waiter told me that it was just the way the fish was cooked so that it would be flaky. The second ingredient in sandwich that I want to define for you is the yuzu tobiko, which is pale orange fish roe.

That being said, when my sandwich was brought to the table, it looked like nothing I had ever seen before. I mean the bun was a classic golden burger bun, but inside was quite the combination with a spicy mayo sauce (like the one that is usually on spicy tuna rolls or other sushi rolls), tobiko, cucumber and a big filet of this blackened Tilefish. I took a bite into the flaky fish and the sauce started oozing out of the bun. It was a very interesting taste, as if I was having a little bit of sushi and a classic American seafood dish. However, it was very spicy and the burger ended up getting pretty soggy because of the abundance of sauce that was oozing through its porous surface. Being that my mouth is pretty sensitive, I had to drink water after every bite because of the spice, but it was worth it.

 

When I looked over at my friend’s Heirloom Tomato sandwich with pine nut hummus and Vermont cheddar cheese, I noticed the different colored tomatoes. Some of them were maroon, some orange and some blood red. I asked how it was and she kindly gave me a large taste with 2 tomatoes and 2 pieces of that delicious Vermont cheddar cheese on top. I took a bite and automatically tasted the pine nuts, but not to the point where it was too strong. The Vermont cheddar cheese was strong, almost like Parmesan but less dry, and added a nice kick to the pine nut hummus and the tomatoes on top of the bread.

 

The Dutch had great ambiance. It was the perfect decision for a rainy day lunch date. Although my sandwich was good, I would choose the Heirloom Tomato sandwich over the Fish Kuroyaki sandwich because the fish sandwich ended up getting really soggy, which ultimately ruined the flavor of the bread with the fish. Also, I feel as though the fish kuroyaki would have been better with the original albacore tuna instead of the tilefish. I also feel the Dutch is all about “the scene” being a trendy restaurant in Manhattan, which can take away or add to your dining experience depending on the day/night you go. Also, if I were to return I would definitely get the fried chicken. Over all, 3.75/5 stars

One thought on “The Dutch: Actually Quite American

  1. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?

    My website addresses a lot of the same topics as
    yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me
    an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Wonderful blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

