The Corner Shop Café: an NYU Student’s Dream

The Corner Shop Café

643 Broadway

New York, NY 10012

http://cornershopcafe.com/

Summary:

Dining Experience: ★★★★ — cool dishes for great prices

Budget: $$ — dinner entrees are more expensive than lunch or brunch

As I read the pages of my book for a digital media class, I was not actually processing the words. I found my mind trailing around the streets of New York looking for a nice restaurant where I could enjoy lunch. After researching places to go and pleading my friend to join me on a lunch date, I decided that we would go to The Corner Shop Café.

Image

(taken on my Instagram @nycdining)

The Corner Shop Café is located on the corner of Broadway and Bleecker, approximately a ten-minute walk from NYU’s Bobst Library. The outside of the café was cute and I could see the long, vintage, maroon and white curtains on the sides of the large windows. I walked inside and automatically notice the Victorian décor on the ceiling, a brick wall, and a mirrored wall with modern red boxes encasing silverware. I guess you could describe it as “Tribeca meets the Victorian era.”

Image

Image

Anyways, I sit down with my friend and order a skim cappuccino as we decide what to order for our entrées when my friend enthusiastically says, “They take NYU campus cash!” My eyes widened and I paused for a minute to thank God for this miracle. Then, after about ten minutes, the cappuccino was placed in front of me and I obviously took a picture of its beautiful foam design before I started sipping. It was very creamy for having skim milk and not too bitter (although I did end up adding half a Splenda to satisfy my sweet tooth.)

Image

(taken on my Instagram @nycdining)

Before ordering, I asked the waiter what he recommended and his answer was the Crème Brulee Dipped French Toast. Although I had already had breakfast, I decided to order the French toast because YOLO. (Just kidding, but not really.) My opted to go the other way and decided to order the Spinach Salad with Orange Vinaigrette.

Our entrées came after about twenty minutes. The French toast was lightly battered with powdered sugar and surrounded by blueberries and strawberries. There was also a blackberry maple syrup in a side dish that tasted like a blackberry cobbler smoothie. When I took a bite of the French toast I noticed that inside provided a warm, gooey contrast to the crispy, battered outside. Without syrup, the French toast was still sweet and tasted like the inside of a sweet croissant. However, nothing beats dipping the warm, mushy bite into the refreshingly cool syrup. It was delicious.

Image

(taken on my Instagram @nycdining)

My friend’s Spinach Salad with Orange Vinaigrette with organic baby spinach, edamame, orange segments, red onion, avocado and cherry tomato was also quite appetizing, but obviously in a different sense. The salad was light, but filling. It is also a very healthy choice for all you really healthy eaters out there! The salad automatically had a subtle onion flavor because of the abundance of red onions that were in the mix and the chicken was extremely fresh.

Image

(taken on my Instagram @nycdining)

After going to the Corner Shop Café, I am definitely a satisfied diner. Not only is the environment chic, but also the prices are extremely affordable and THEY TAKE NYU CAMPUS CASH. Other options on the menu that stuck out to me were the Truffle Poached Eggs on Toast, Truffle Mac & Cheese, and the PB & Banana Grilled Sandwich. Who doesn’t want truffles at an affordable price? And who doesn’t want to use campus cash when they can? Ultimately, The Corner Café is a great choice and NYU students need to go now!

Summary:

Dining Experience: ★★★★ — cool dishes for great prices

Budget: $$ — dinner entrees are more expensive than lunch or brunch

Leave a Reply

